Five Elements Shopping Guide

The color scheme of HYY products packaging is based on the Five Elements Theory in Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM)

colors

What is the Five Elements Theory?

The Five Elements Theory evolved from the study of various processes, functions, and phenomena of nature. The theory asserts substances can be divided into one of five basic elements: wood, fire, water, metal and earth which contain their own specific characteristics and properties. Today we refer to this medical system as Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM).

wood         fire         earth         metal         water

All Copyright @ 2002-2006 by Shen-Nong Ltd.

 

How is the Five Elements Theory related to our health?

Phenomena in the natural world are grouped into one of the five elements according to their properties, functions and appearance, but other correlations can be made among them. We can illustrate its many relationships with nature and the body. The rules that govern the five elements include a mutual generation cycle, a mutual restriction cycle, over restriction, reverse restriction and balance between generation and restriction.

0

The physiological activities of human organs are also part of natural phenomena so they can be classified according to the different characteristics of the five elements as well:

Elements Associated organ system Similar functions of the elements & the associated organ system
Metal

metal

Lung Lung has clearing and descending properties similar to metal
Wood

wood

Liver Both have the function of qi flow
Water

water

Kidney Kidney controls water metabolism and storing essence which is associates with the water element’s characteristics of moistening and flowing downward.
Fire

fire

Heart Both create warming actions.
Earth

earth

Spleen Spleen transforms food into essential substances the body needs which is associated with the earth element’s characteristics of growth and transformation.

 

Balance between generation and restriction is important for normal transformation of the five elements. Each element is under the influence of the other four in some way. For example, wood generates fire and water generates wood. On the other hand, wood inhibits earth, but itself is inhibited by metal. In this way, all five elements establish an intricate homeostasis in nature. This wisdom has also been applied to TCM by incorporating the theory of the five elements into health maintenance strategies, which have been successful for thousands of years.

Chinese Medicine looks at body organs differently from Western Medicine

In western medicine, the body’s organs are explained in terms of their anatomical structure and physiological functions. However, in Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM), the approach is quite different. Organs are considered functional units of the body. Therefore, what is typically thought of as an organ (i.e. heart, liver, stomach etc.) has a much broader meaning and application in TCM. An organ’s anatomical structure is not as important as its yin yang properties or relationships with other organs. Chinese medicine recognizes five yin organs and six yang organs, also known as “zang” and “fu” organs respectively. In TCM, the physiological functions of the body are based on harmonious relationships between yin and yang organs. That means you may have health problems if your yin yang organs are not in a balanced condition.

How should I pick a product suitable for me?

  1. Identify which health organ system you wish to improve.
  2. Identify the representing color associated with the health organ from the Five Element Theory table.
  3. Find the suitable HYY product with the same label color scheme.
  4. Read the benefits of your chosen products to determine if it fits your needs.
  5. Consult a pharmacist, your local TCM doctor or HYY if you have unanswered questions.

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to your next purchase!

Add a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

五行學說購物指南

杏林堂產品的包裝標籤顏色是根據傳統中醫藥的五行學說。

colors

什麼是五行學說?

五行學說是通過研究各種演化過程、功能及自然現象發展出來的一套理論,這套理論認為事物可分為五個類別,稱為五行,五行分別為木、火、水、金、土,每一個類別都有各自的特性及性質。古代中醫學家已將陰陽及五行學說的理論融合於醫學之中,隨著這些學說的結合與發展,逐漸建立起一個更具系統性的醫學系統,今天這個系統稱為傳統中醫學。

wood           fire           earth            metal           water
All Copyright @ 2002-2006 by Shen-Nong Ltd.

 

五行學說怎樣聯繫我們的健康?

自然界的各項現象根據它們的性質,功能及外觀, 歸立為五行。除此以外,五行的各項亦會相互影響。 我們可以說明自然與人類身體的關係,五行中的木、火、土、金、水並非獨立分離,而是緊密地結合在一起,並有其內在的秩序及規律,五行演化的秩序規律包括相生的循環、相克的循環、相乘的關係、反克的關係及生與克的平衡關係。

0

人類的臟腑生理活動亦是其中一種自然現象, 所以也可以根據五行的特質去分析:

五行 五行及五臟的對應關係
金  metal 肺氣主肅降,金有清肅、收斂的特性, 故以“肺”屬“木”
木  wood 肝喜條達,有疏泄的功能,木有生發的特性,故以肝屬“木”
水  water 腎主水及有儲存水的功能,與水有潤下的特性,故以腎屬“水”
火  fire 心推動血液運行, 有溫煦機體的作用,與火有陽熱的特性相似,故以“心”屬“火”
土  earth 脾為生化之源與土有生化萬物的特性相似,故以 “脾”屬“土

 

生與克的平衡對五行正常的運化非常重要,而五行中每一行都受到其餘四行的影響。例如,木生火,而木又為水所生,另一方面,木克土,而木又被金所克。這樣,五行在自然界中維持了一個微妙的平衡狀態。數千年以來,五行學說的智慧一直被應用到中醫學中,並成功地為人體提供了保健的策略。

中醫與西醫對身體器官有不同的辨証方法

在西方醫學中,人體的器官是根據解剖結構和器官的生理功能方面去解釋。但傳統中醫藥的解釋則有所不同。中醫是以臟腑(人體的器官) 的生理功能、病理表現及臟腑之間的相互關係為依據,確認哪一臟腑之陽虛,並對疾病進行分析歸納,即“臟腑辨証”。所以,傳統中醫藥對人體的器官(如心、肝、胃等)有更廣泛的定義及應用。傳統中醫藥認為,在中醫辨証上,陰陽的特性與器官之間的相互影響(整體系統)比了解單一器官的解剖結構更加重要。中醫學把身體器官分為“五臟”(陰)和“六腑”(陽)。身體的正常生理功能得以維持是需要靠陰陽及各臟腑調和,否則,臟腑失衡便會引起身體各種的健康問題。

我應怎樣選擇適合我的杏林堂產品?

  1. 確認你希望改善健康的身體器官系統
  2. 從五行學說表找出其身體器官系統代表的顏色
  3. 找出有該代表顏色標籤的杏林堂產品
  4. 細閱產品的介紹是否適合您的需要
  5. 如對產品有疑問可咨詢您的中醫師或杏林堂 (info@icm.com.hk)

感謝你的光顧並期待您下次再光臨本店!